Piravi (1988) Movie Details

Premji , Archana & more
Shaji N. Karun
1 hr 50 mins
Rating: 6.6/10 from 182 users

Piravi Movie Cast

as Chakyar
as Chakyar's daughte
Lakshmi Krishnamurthy
as Chakyar's wife

Piravi Crew List

Director :
Screenplay : Shaji N. Karun , S. Jayachandran Nair , Raghunath Paleri
Director of Photography : Sunny Joseph
Editor : Venugopal
Art Direction : Devan
Sound Recordist : T. Krishnanunni
Story : S. Jayachandran Nair
Screenplay : Shaji N. Karun

Piravi International Release Dates

Released Date

Piravi Film Songs

Piravi Songs are not available at this moment. You can add it using the "Add Missing Songs" button above

Other Popular Premji Movies

List of awards & nominations received by Piravi

National Film Awards (India)
Best Feature Film
Award : National Film Awards (India) in 1988
Movie : പിറവി
Year : 1988
National Film Awards (India)
Best Direction
Award : National Film Awards (India) in 1988
Movie : പിറവി
Year : 1988
Kerala State Film Awards
Second Best Film
Award : Kerala State Film Awards in 1988
Movie : പിറവി
Year : 1988

Raghu, the only son of Raghava Chakyar was born late for him. So he poured his entire love and affection on him. Raghu, studying in an engineering college in a far away city has to arrive at his home to attend the engagement ceremony of his only sister. But he doesn't. The father starts his endless wait for his son. He daily waits at the bus stop till the last bus from the town also returns. Raghava Chakyar comes to know from newspapers that Raghu was taken into custody by the Police for political reasons. He reaches the capital and meets the higher Police officials. But they pretended helpless as there is no proof that Raghu was taken into custody. Raghu's sister comes to understand that he probably would have died in police custody after being tortured, but cannot bear to tell this to her father. The old man's grip on reality slowly slips and he starts dreaming that his son is with him


Piravi is a 1988 Malayalam Film stars Premji , Shaji N. Karun , Shaji N. Karun , S. Jayachandran Nair , Raghunath Paleri , Sunny Joseph , Venugopal , Devan , T. Krishnanunni , S. Jayachandran Nair , Archana , Lakshmi Krishnamurthy , Shaji N. Karun , directed by Shaji N. Karun & music by .